Reasons Why Extremist Rhetoric is All The Same

By the word “extremists,” I am referring to individual adherents of any faith who respond to the world around them in mentally and socially imbalanced ways.

1. They see the world in black and white; right and wrongs. The only exceptions are those that work in favor of their larger arguments.

2. They appeal to fear in order to gain followers. Ex: “If you don’t follow Q, then you will burn in the pits of Hell.”

3. They use logical fallacies when trying to “prove” their points. Ex: “This is wrong, because the guy with the religious man with the big beard says so.” (Appeal to Authority).

4. They are desperate to convince you they are right. If they cannot, they resort to the fallacies as a rhetorical tactic.

5. They condescendingly think they know something you don’t know.

6. They believe that they are neo-prophets. Their  role in this life is to show you the way to salvation.

7. They carry a lot of theory (book knowledge), but rarely any experience or practical knowledge about the way to their Creator.

8. They speak before they listen to others. This deafness leads them to make commentaries about subjects, religions and people without knowledge.

9. Anything that doesn’t line up with their worldview is simply “wrong” or “misunderstood”.

10. If they don’t get their way, they become violent. Ex: blow themselves (and others) up, burn Holy Books of other faiths, commit murder, verbally and physically attack, force others into submission, build oppressive theocratic regimes (these make me want to vomit), they silence their people, and so on. (Honestly, the Buddhists are the only ones who have gotten this peace thing down).

11. Last and certainly not least, they do not understand neither God nor Peace.



5 thoughts on “Reasons Why Extremist Rhetoric is All The Same

  1. ” If they don’t get their way, they become violent. Ex: blow themselves (and others) up, ”

    I’m not so sure about that. I don’t think sucidie bombers do what they do because they’re not getting there way. I understand the point your trying to make , but I don’t think it’s right to label sucide bomber as delusional extremist.
    Do people ever notice that sucide bombers mostly come from poor, extreme hostile enviroments? That they might have experienced war, poverty, destruction, humiliation, murder, frustration that can lead them to want to end there life by killing the one’s that are responsible for it? Maybe desperate revenge is what they want; not to just kill “infidels”. In fact, I don’t think I ever heard of a story where a suicide bomber risked his life just to kill infidels for the fun of it. There’s always a more seirous motive that leads them to do it. Blaming islam (not saying you are, I’m speaking about the general public) seems to be a lazy way out of really thinking and discusiing the real reason for suicide bombers.

    Sorry for getting off topic. I seem to always get frustrated when people think that they are all just extreme evil-hearted souls. I think they deserve to be understand more.

    Other than that, I enjoyed reading your post. Hope I didn’t offend you.

    Salam

    • Salams Kafiya,

      Thank you for reading my post.

      I think you are right that the statement is oversimplified. This is the tragedy of writing within a space limit, I suppose. You may be very well right that there is usually a motive behind people’s actions, but this doesn’t ever make murder OK. I do not (and will not) sympathize with anyone who chooses violence and murder as a way to get their voices heard. I am also a supporter of justice, but I opposed those who “shoot blindly”. In other words, suicide bombers (if you are right to say that many of them are trying to seek justice against those who have wronged them), are taking innocent people along the way. Moreover, individuals don’t get to decide for themselves who is guilty or innocent. There is a system and process to get justice. And if there is no justice, then each person needs to be patient.

      “There’s always a more seirous motive that leads them to do it.” Just because there are serious motives does not mean that it is suddenly justified. If someone kills my parents, should I go on a shooting spree because there is a serious motive? Innocent people die, I cause terror in my society and I don’t get my parents back from the dead. There is no justice there.

      As you may learn from my other posts, I am a convert to Islam. I do not blame Islam. On the same token, I am not going to sympathize with murderers of any sort. I don’t care if they’ve been through hell and back in their lifetimes. I don’t care about their motives, really. Murder is murder. Most people–illiterates, the mentally challenged, those with learning disabilities, children, and even my dog–know that revenge by murder is not the answer. There is a different between Islam and Muslims. I blame the brainwashing that goes on in secluded religious communities and theocratic regimes.

      And you didn’t offend me, sister. This is the place to have such discussions; hence, my controversial topics. I, however, believe that much of what we believe to be “right” and “wrong” is dictated and driven by others’ agendas rather than our own faith and understanding in God.

      Kafiya, I have heard Muslims be less understanding with one another over the length of their shirt sleeve. I don’t think we should have to be more sympathetic towards murderers. How about teaching our communities how the prophet of Islam (pbuh) advised his followers to refrain from becoming angry? Anger leads to desiring revenge and other violent expressions. While I generally believe that people are good, this doesn’t mean I will try to understand nor excuse murder.

      (By the way, I don’t think you are excusing suicide bombers. I understand your point about “seeing it from the other side”, but in this particular topic, I strongly disagree).

  2. I overlooked one very good point you made on education. I certainly would like to believe that education can change the condition of a people. This may be the only way I could find sympathy for this kind of extremism. You are right that the oppressed are *usually* the ones who resort violence (with hopes of changing their conditions). As an educator, I would like to think that desire for knowledge (books, literacy, and so on) can eventually replace a desire for revenge.

  3. Salam Maha

    You are right that I am not making any excuses for murders. I do not support murderers and killers of innocents whatsoever. I just wanted to point out that not all suicide bombers are evil or brainwashed. The reason why I get frustarted at times is because I know of a story of one suicide bomber who’s motive and action were not evil and bloodthristy. During the U.S backed Ethiopian invasion of Somalia, many innocentswere killed. One young boy witnessed Ethiopian soliders murder and rape his mother and younger sister. They destoyed his home and left him there laughing with his dead family in front of him. Of coarse for him he wanted to bring some justice and help get rid of the Ethiopian Soliders there. He sneaked into an Ethiopian Military camp and blew him self up killing 70 soliders there. Because of that incident, the solders were foced to leave his city. I don’t like the method but at times it is necessary. is it fair that the Media back here reports how “evil” his actions were but ignore the mass murderand killing being done by the Ethiopian soliders and others in places like Iraq and Afghanistan? In their eyes, how can they fight soliders that are so well-eqipped and purposely walk among civilians knowing that they are being targeted by fighters? Is it fair that soliders with more powerful weapons can easily kill without taking his life away and is not condemn the way adespertae sucide bomber is?

    Again, i want to remind you that I am not defending the cowards that kill innocents.All Muslims should condem those murderers. I’m just pointing out the other story of most sucide bombers that, in my opinion, deserve some understanding.

Leave a Reply

