Raw Conversations

Conchita: Have you ever heard the voice of someone who’s deaf? The voice is crude and ancient , because it has no sense of direction or place, because it doesn’t hear itself and it doesn’t know if anybody else in the world hears it. Sometimes I want to have a long conversation with you, like this. Like a deaf person. As if I couldn’t hear you or myself. But I would just talk and talk, and say everything that comes to my mind, like a shell that shouts with the voice of the sea and it doesn’t care if anybody ever hears it. That’s how I want to speak to you, and ask you things.

(Anna in the Tropics, Nilo Cruz)

Leave a Reply

